Instagram [My Social Media Dilemmas and Pet Peeves]

Did they like my photo? Should I like theirs if they haven’t liked mine? Hands up if you’ve ever been guilty of this because I for one, always am! I’m not ashamed to admit that I won’t like someone’s photo if they don’t like mine, because that is probably how their liking system works as well. 

One of my biggest pet peeves is when I like someones photo on Instagram, but then never getting a like back on my photos. My dilemma then is… should I like a photo that they’ve just posted recently, let’s say, two days after I post mine? In a world where likes are seemingly very important, as it not only boosts your ego, but may also reflect how many followers or friends you have, I would think no, it’s not wrong to want people to like your photo, or to not like someone else’s when they haven’t liked yours! Like they say, an eye for an eye, return the favour or receive none! All I’m simply doing is just saying hey, I liked the most recent photo(s) you posted, you didn’t like mine, so why I should I now like the one you just posted? I know I know, why be so selfish and obnoxious? Well, here’s the way I see it, the people who don’t like my photos are always on Instagram (literally everyday) liking away other people’s photos and posts (it’s easy to see this given how advanced the apps are now), and to kind of miss my post or photo just seems a little weird you know?

Why do you follow me if you never like my photos? Biggest.social.media.pet.peeve of all times my fellow readers. Remember when you used to always get those likes from the same people? And now they rarely, or never ever like your photos but are still liking other people’s things? Yeah that’s what I dislike the most, especially when I go to that “following” section on Instagram where you can refresh the page to see what/who’s posts are being liked from the people you’re following. However, I’m not too concerned with the likes going to popular Instagram people, bloggers, music artists, or actors, but rather people whom we share mutual friends. Anyways, me when someone hasn’t liked any of my photos for months: *unfollows/removes follow but still wants to see any future posts*.

Now, why does this bug me so much? It’s because I think it would be nice that my followers figure also reflected the number of likes on my photos. Nothing more, nothing less. I’m sure I’m not the only who feels this way, because just like everyone else, I too also want that extra like to boost my ego, not in a selfish sense, but in a way which reflects my efforts.

– itsjacey

Leave a Reply

